The Urban Yoga Den

…where it's all yoga.

Monthly Focus: November – Gratitude November 23, 2010

Today I feel really, really lucky.

The amount of joy that I get to experience throughout the days is beyond what I might have imagined years ago, when I was stuck in shadows and pain. I dare say, life IS a bowl of cherries – sweet fruit, crunchy pits and all! And because of this intention toward accepting life’s sweetness and crunchiness (a form of Santosha, contentment), my potential for moving through challenges and toward celebrations is greater than ever. I don’t have to be stuck anywhere anymore.

Today I have choices.

This past weekend I tripped and fell and hurt myself – and I see the event as a parallel for my figurative stumbles along life’s path. I get to choose my attitude about that occurrence. I get to choose my reactions and actions. I get to choose whether I will be angry or self-pitying or embarrassed…or, whether I will be concerned and aware and ask for help. I get to choose solutions from a toolbox that has evolved from previous stumbles. And gratefully, I have the opportunity to grow along the journey.

Pratipaksha Bhavana! I resolve to focus on the positive!

I look forward to a true Thanksgiving this year. In the spirit of November trends, I’ve chosen “Gratitude” for our November class focus. It’s been great exploring the theme so far, with uplifting Vinyasa, heart openers and a celebratory energy. We’ve dedicated practices to our appreciation for beings, things and situations.

We’ve even asked ourselves: Can we be grateful for the sweet fruit and the crunchy pits? How about those beings, things and situations that challenge us and make us uncomfortable? What if we saw all as opportunities for growth?

I can easily be thankful for the obvious – health, a roof over my head, teachers, work opportunities, community and so on. When unexpected or even unwanted people or situations affect me negatively, I try (try) to remember that everything is just as it’s meant to be in that moment. There is so much beyond my immediate perception that has caused that interaction; and the range and expansiveness of chain reactions from that interaction will be way beyond my comprehension and knowledge.

In other words, more will be revealed.

This is why I feel so lucky! Yoga teaches me that in a challenging pose, on the mat, I can use breath, intention, alignment cues and more to enhance courage, acceptance and ease. I don’t have to run away from the pose; I don’t have to resent my teacher; I don’t have to suffer. If I stay present with the discomfort, more will be revealed – in some cases, quite literally, I will eventually feel the physical benefits of that particular pose. In other cases, figuratively, the psychological benefits of surrendering to and finding gratitude for the challenge will become obvious.

I am not perfect at this! Coming out of a pose at times simply shows my humanness – and I can practice Santosha toward that beauty, as well. Gratitude for and contentment with my perfectly human imperfection.

Now I’m rambling. As last year, I will end this monthly focus post with a gratitude list. I invite you to join me in the tradition and appreciate the sweet fruit and crunchy pits that grace your bowl of cherries!

OM Shanti.

GRATITUDE LIST – MONDAY, 22 NOVEMBER, 2010
1. Teachers in all guises – ankle-biters, button pushers, mirrors, opposites, soul mates, wise ones, allies and on.
2. Talented, generous and attentive healers and doctors.
3. All spiritual programs, traditions and resources.
4. Opportunities for growth in all forms. Really. Hindsight is 20-20.
5. The CDs that friends loan to introduce me to new music.
6. Music, yoga, baseball, natural health and cuisine. Having passions.
7. Fusing cultures and traditions of devotion, love and spirit – i.e. Bomba Kirtan!
8. Those that lead the way. Elders in age and/or years of experience.
9. Opportunities to teach, mentor and learn from children.
10. My family – of origin and of communities.
11. Second, third, hundredth chances.
12. Infinite beauty and generous gifts of nature.
13. Life, love, higher power.
14. So, so much more – i.e. bedtime. Good night!

(Bowl of Cherries painting by Midwest artist Penelope – http://penelope.mosaicglobe.com/)

 

Leave a Reply

