The Urban Yoga Den

…where it's all yoga.

Consider Love February 21, 2010

Filed under: Anahata,Chakra,heart,love,Spirituality,Yoga — Holly Meyers @ 11:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Love is not a feeling; it’s an ability. – Marty to Dan in “Dan in Real Life”

Am I able to love?

More importantly – am I able to post a blog about love in a timely fashion?  Hehe.  I intended to write about love on Valentine’s Day, before teaching my evening yoga class last Sunday, February 14th.  So, I’m a week late.  Still, I’ve spent this week pondering love – in classes, in meditation, with my new boyfriend, in counsel with my gal pals.  And it’s come to this:

Consider love.  All forms of love.  Love for people, love for activities such as work or service, love for interests such as hobbies or practices, love for material things, love for self.  And perhaps, love for something beyond all of these forms.

If I think about these many manifestations of love, then without a doubt, I know that I am able.  What comes to mind? My love for my nephew Dustin, for teaching yoga, for watching baseball, for great chocolate, for my imperfect humanness, for nature.  That’s a lot of love.  And it all comes from the same place; its core is the same.  The impulse of devotion, ease of acceptance, excitement for passions, softness of compassion, vibration of connection.

It’s all love; it all comes from the heart.  Qualities of the Heart Chakra (aka Anahata) include devotion, passion, yearning and fulfillment.  So as I teach the final weeks of our Bi-Monthly Focus, I am inviting students to “exercise” the heart by allowing each movement, breath, meditation and intention to be filled with love – whether they are focusing on people, activities, interests, things, self or a higher power.  Or all of this.

And indeed, I believe we will see that love is our inherent ability.

Thanks so much, EVERYONE (students, teachers, friends, spirits, and on and on and on) for making January and February an amazing exercise of the heart.  I dream up these Bi-Monthly Focus ideas for my students, supposedly; this time around, I received so many gifts and so much transformation from our practice together.  I am so grateful.

OM Shanti.

 

Leave a Reply

